//
you're reading...
Healthy, Impressive-but-easy, On Hand

Winging Eggplant Parmesan

Dinner at my house takes form in one of two ways:

1. Things in the fridge that need to be eaten. NOW!
2. Things that I purchased without much rhyme or reason because they were either on sale or I was hungry and they looked good to me.

This dish was created out of the necessity to move some items out of the fridge, fast. I had an eggplant given to me by a coworker, leftover mozzarella cheese from pizza night, too many tomatoes from the garden and an open box of vegetable stock. I looked at all of the items on my kitchen counter and immediately thought, eggplant parmesan.

Here’s the recipe that I half looked up and half made up. I decided to go grain-free on this one, so I used almond meal flour instead of breadcrumbs. It turned out super tasty, giving me bragging rights for the rest of the night. Don’t let the pictures fool you; I took them with my old idiot-proof Nikon that can make any food look like something out of a Wes Craven movie.

Eggplant Parmesan
1 medium eggplant
1 egg
1 cup + almond meal flour (you can use breadcrumbs if you’d like)
1 ½ to 2 tsp oregano
salt and pepper to taste
Grated parmesan cheese, use as much as you like. I used about ¼ cup or so.
Olive oil for frying
Mozzarella cheese

Quick tomato sauce

4 ripe tomatoes, chopped
3-4 minced garlic cloves
1 tsp olive oil
¼ – ½ cut basil, chopped
1 tsp oregano
1Tbls tomato paste
Salt and pepper to taste
½ cup of vegetable stock (totally optional. I had some that needed to be used, so I used it. I know adding stock makes it less Italian, and I’m okay with that)

Cut the eggplants into ½ inch thick slices. Salt both sides and place in a colander for half an hour so slices can release their water content.

Start on the tomato sauce. Heat olive oil in a pan. Add garlic and cook until quit fragrant, about 30 seconds to 1 minute. Add tomatoes. Cook until they’ve released their juices. Add stock if using, tomato paste, basil, oregano, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, then turn down the heat and allow the ingredients get to know each other over a slow simmer. You want the sauce to become thick. Let it happily simmer away while you’re preparing the eggplant.

Mix almond flour, oregano, salt, pepper and parmesan cheese in a shallow bowl. Beat egg in a separate shallow bowl. Rinse off the resting eggplant to remove the salt. Coat the eggplant with the egg, then with the flour mixture. Heat olive oil in a pan. Once it’s hot, place the coated eggplant slices. Cook on each side until golden brown and crispy.

Preheat oven to 350.

Place the cooked eggplant in a baking dish in a single layer. Top with tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese and more parmesan. Bake for about 30 minutes until the cheese is melted and the sauce is bubbling. Serve and enjoy.

About Puka

I use coconut oil in literally everything including this sentence.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

